Documentation

Archives

The International Centre for Ancient and Modern Tapestry (referred to by its French acronym, CITAM) was responsible for organising the Tapestry Biennials from 1962 to 1995. Its archives are now held by two Lausanne institutions. The City of Lausanne Archives keeps the administrative documents and the Fondation Toms Pauli keeps the artists’ application files and the specialised library (ancient tapestry and the New Tapestry movement).

The archives and the library are open to the public and to researchers, by appointment and for on-the-spot consultation.

The database of artworks presented at the Lausanne Tapestry Biennials.

In 2012, in collaboration with the City of Lausanne Archives, the Fondation Pauli created a database, based on sources conserved by the CITAM, showing the 911 works presented at the Lausanne Tapestry Biennials from 1962 to 1992. This visual online platform accompanied by documentation provides professionals and the public at large with a research tool related to the history and international development of the New Tapestry movement during the second half of the twentieth century.

The information contained in the database was drawn from the exhibition catalogues published for each event. The newly digitalised images in colour come from the application files that artists sent in to the jury of the CITAM.

For access to the database in English and French: 

www.lausanne.ch/citam and  CITAM database

Biennale de la Tapisserie, Lausanne, 1977
Biennale de la Tapisserie, Lausanne, 1981
Site web: E-Unit • Design: Latitude66

Dokumentation

Archiv

Das Centre International de la Tapisserie Ancienne et Moderne (CITAM) war der Organisator der Biennales de la Tapisserie von 1962 bis 1995. Sein Archiv befindet sich heute in zwei Lausanner Institutionen: in den Archives de la Ville de Lausanne, was die administrativen Dokumente, und in der Fondation Toms Pauli, was die künstlerischen Kandidaturdossiers und die Fachbibliothek (alte und Neue Tapisserie) betrifft.

Archiv und Bibliothek stehen dem Publikum und Forschenden zur Verfügung. Auf Anmeldung. Keine Ausleihe.

Datenbank der in den Biennales de la Tapisserie präsentierten Werk

Gemeinsam schufen die Archives de la Ville de Lausanne und die Fondation Toms Pauli 2012 eine Datenbank, die auf Grundlage der vom CITAM aufbewahrten Quellen die 911 Werke erfasst und vorstellt, die von 1962 bis 1995 in den Tapisserie-Biennalen in Lausanne zu sehen waren. Diese illustrierte und wissenschaftlich dokumentierte Online-Plattform bietet Fachleuten und Tapisseriefreunden ein wichtiges Arbeitsinstrument zur Erforschung der Geschichte und internationalen Entwicklung der Neuen Tapisserie in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die in der Datenbank vereinten Angaben stammen aus den Ausstellungskatalogen, die für jede Ausgabe der Biennale publiziert wurden. Die neu digitalisierten Farbaufnahmen sind den Kandidaturdossiers entnommen, die von den Kunstschaffenden an das CITAM eingesandt wurden.

Die Datenbank kann in französischer oder englischer Sprache konsultiert werden auf:

www.lausanne.ch/citam und CITAM Datenbank

 

 

Biennale de la Tapisserie, Lausanne, 1977
Biennale de la Tapisserie, Lausanne, 1981
Site web: E-Unit • Design: Latitude66