2018

Łódź, Central Museum of Textiles

Metamorphism. Magdalena Abakanowicz (1930-2017)
Part 1: 30th November – 1st April 2018 / Part 2: 17th May – 9th September 2018

Works on loan and collaboration

The Central Museum of Textiles in Łódź is commemorating the recent passing of Magdalena Abakanowicz, an internationally renowned Polish artist whose international career started at the Lausanne Tapestry Biennials.

The inaugural exhibition will present a series of textile works preserved in public and private collections in Poland. The second part will bring together 25 of the artist’s creations belonging to the Fondation Toms Pauli Contemporary Collection.

This two-part event pays tribute to Abakanowicz’s fundamental research ranging from mural tapestry to sculpture, and highlights her pioneering role in the development of twentieth-century textile art.

2017

Lausanne Parliament, Pas-Perdus Room, Spring 2017

Work on loan

For the official inauguration of the new building of the Grand Conseil (parliament) of Vaud, the Fondation Toms displayed their Black Column tapestry, an almost 4-metre high, refined and graphic work created in 1973 by the Swiss artist, Moïk Schiele.

2016

Biel, NMB Neues Museum Biel

Lissy Funk - From Generation to Generation, 17th September - 25th December 

Works on loan

For its upcoming exhibition, the Neues Museum Biel will focus on the embroidered works of Lissy Funk (1909 – 2005), as well as featuring paintings by her husband, Adolf Funk, and her daughter, Rosina Kuhn.

On loan: 8 embroidered works 

In parallel: the Rosina Kuhn – From Generation to Generation exhibition at the Kunsthaus, Grenchen/Granges (until the 23rd October 2016)

Guimarães, Musée Alberto Sampaio / Contextile Contemporary Textile Art Biennial

A Textile Memory: The Lausanne Biennials
30th July – 16th October 2016

Works on loan and collaboration

After NomAadic Tapestries, the Fondation Toms Pauli is offering another perspective on the development of textile art during the period 1960 to 2000 with more than 25 works from their 20th-century collection.  A Textile Memory: The Lausanne Biennials takes its place in the very contemporary environment of the third edition of Contextile.

Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

Tapisseries nomades. Fondation Toms Pauli. 20th-Century Collection 
25 March – 29 May 2016

Own exhibition

The exhibition Tapisseries nomades draws on the Fondation Toms Pauli contemporary collection. To be presented at the Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts in Lausanne, it will retrace the medium’s evolution from the 1960s to the 2000s: from classical wall tapestry to textile sculpture and from decoration to installation. 

Comprising thirty works, some of them on a monumental scale, the exhibition reveals an almost unknown aspect of the canton’s 20th-century collection, in a range of works by Lurçat, Abakanowicz, Buić, de Amaral, Delaunay, Giauque and Agano. These pioneers of the postwar tapestry revival played a significant part in redefining textile art as a major expressive form.  

List of artists    Press Release

Pforzheim, Pforzheim Galerie

Aufbruch Textil, 22nd February - 22nd May 2016

Works on loan

Pioneers of the New Tapestry movement of the 1960s, Ritzi and Peter Jacobi were active in Pforzheim for more than 20 years.  Their works,  together with those of several of their contemporaries  including  Abakanowicz, de Amaral, and Buic, have been juxtaposed with a number of recent textile works by German artists.

On loan six textile works by Magdalena Abakanowicz, Olga de Amaral, Jagoda Buić et Jean Lurçat.

Metamorfizm. Magdalena Abakanowicz, Łódź, 2018
Metamorfizm. Magdalena Abakanowicz, Łódź, 2018
Lissy Funk, L'Arbre de vie (détail), 1964
A Textile Memory: the Lausanne Biennials, Guimarães, 2016
Tapisseries nomades, Lausanne, 2016
Aufbruch Textile, Pforzheim, 2016
Site web: E-Unit • Design: Latitude66

2018

Łódź, Zentrales Textilmuseum

Metamorphism. Magdalena Abakanowicz (1930–2017)
1. Teil: 30. November 2017 – 1. April 2018 / 2. Teil: 17. Mai – 9. September 2018

Ausleihe und Zusammenarbeit

Mit dieser Schau gedenkt das Zentrale Textilmuseum Łódź der vor kurzem verstorbenen polnischen Künstlerin Magdalena Abakanowicz, deren weltberühmte Karriere in Lausanne anlässlich der Biennalen der Tapisserie begann.

Im ersten Teil der Ausstellung ist eine Auswahl von Textilarbeiten aus öffentlichen und privaten polnischen Sammlungen zu sehen. Der zweite Teil vereint 25 Kreationen der Künstlerin aus der zeitgenössischen Sammlung der Fondation Toms Pauli.

Die Doppelveranstaltung würdigt die grundlegende Suche, die Magdalena Abakanowicz von der Wandtapisserie zur Skulptur führte, und erinnert an ihre Vorreiterrolle in der Textilkunst des 20. Jahrhunderts.

2017

Lausanne, Parlamentsgebäude, Wandelhalle, Frühjahr 2017

Ausleihe

Anlässlich der offiziellen Eröffnung des neuen Gebäudes des Waadtländer Grossen Rats installiert die Fondation Toms die fast 4 m hohe Schwarze Säule von Moïk Schiele, ein klares, grafisches Werk, das die Schweizer Künstlerin 1973 schuf.

2016

Biel, NMB Neues Museum Biel

Lissy Funk - Von Generation zu Generation, 17. September - 25. Dezember 2016

Ausleihe

Das Neues Museum Biel wird das stickte und eigenartige Kunstarbeit von Lissy Funk ins Zentrum seiner Ausstellung rücken und gleichzeitig auch Werke von Rosina Kuhn und Adolf Funk, Tochter und Ehemann der schweizerischen Künstlerin. 

Leihgabe von 8 bestickten Werken 

Im parallele: Ausstellung Rosina Kuhn – Von Generation zu Generation, Kunsthaus Grenchen (bis 23. Oktober 2016)

Guimarães, Museu de Alberto Sampaio / Contextile Contemporary Textile Art Biennial

A Textile Memory: The Lausanne Biennials

30. Juli – 16. Oktober 2016

Ausleihe und Zusammenarbeit

Nach Tapisseries nomades wirft die Fondation Toms Pauli mit 25 Werken aus ihrer Sammlung 20. Jahrhundert einen weiteren Blick auf die Entwicklung der Textilkunst von den 1960er-Jahren bis 2000. A Textile Memory: The Lausanne Biennials steht im Bezug zu dem ausgeprägt zeitgenössischen Rahmen der 3. Contextile.

Lausanne, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts

Tapisseries nomades. Fondation Toms Pauli. Sammlung 20. Jahrhundert

25. März – 29. Mai 2016

Eigene Ausstellung

Tapisseries nomades ist eine Ausstellung der zeitgenössischen Sammlung der Fondation Toms Pauli, welche die Räume des Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts Lausanne nutzt, um einen Überblick über die Entwicklung der Tapisserie von den 1960er bis zu den 2000er-Jahren zu bieten – von klassischen Wandteppichen zu Textilskulpturen, von Dekoration zur Installation.

Die Schau, die teilweise riesige Werke umfasst, zeigt einen kaum bekannten Teil der Textilsammlung des 20. Jahrhunderts im Besitz des Staats Waadt, der das Schaffen von Lurçat, Abakanowicz, Buić, Amaral, Delaunay, Giauque und Agano veranschaulicht. Diese Kunstschaffenden, die für die Erneuerung der Nachkriegs-Tapisserie Pionierarbeit leisteten, trugen entscheidend zum neuen Verständnis der Textilkunst als eines der wichtigsten künstlerischen Ausdrucksmittel bei. 

Vertretene Künstler   Pressemitteilung

Pforzheim, Pforzheim Galerie

Aufbruch Textil, 22. Februar - 22. Mai 2016

Ausleihe

Ritzi und Peter Jakobi, die als Pioniere der Neuen Tapisserie der 1960er-Jahre gelten, waren mehr als zwanzig Jahre lang in Pforzheim tätig. Ihre Werke und einige Arbeiten ihrer Zeitgenossen – Abakanowicz, de Amaral, Buić – werden mehreren neuen Textilkreationen deutscher Künstler gegenübergestellt.

Leihgabe 6 Textilwerken von Magdalena Abakanowicz, Olga de Amaral, Jagoda Buić et Jean Lurçat.

Metamorfizm. Magdalena Abakanowicz, Łódź, 2018
Metamorfizm. Magdalena Abakanowicz, Łódź, 2018
Lissy Funk, L'Arbre de vie (détail), 1964
A Textile Memory: the Lausanne Biennials, Guimarães, 2016
Tapisseries nomades, Lausanne, 2016
Aufbruch Textile, Pforzheim, 2016
Site web: E-Unit • Design: Latitude66